The Spanish Vacuum Society

The Spanish Vacuum Society

The Spanish Vacuum Society


The Spanish Vacuum Society was created in 1963 as a specialised working group of the Spanish Committee of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) and eventually it became an independent society “Asociación Española del Vacío y sus Aplicaciones” (ASEVA) (Spanish  Vacuum Society) in 1968. This first stage is credited to the work and encouragement of Dr. L. Villena who promoted meetings among specialists in the field with the aim of creating a society or at least a Committee on Vacuum Science and Technology. Activities were focused on the Vacuum Physics group at the Institute of Applied Physics of the National Research Council, CSIC, under the leadership of Prof. C. S. Martín and Prof. J. L. de Segovia. Thanks to the early activities of Drs. Villena, Martín, Blasco and Miranda, attending the First International Congress on Vacuum Technology in Namur, Belgium, in 1958, where they supported the creation the IOVST (International Organisation on Vacuum Science and Technology).  This gave to the Spanish Committee on Vacuum Science and Technology to join and be member of IOVSTA; this later became the IUVSTA (International Union for Vacuum Science, Technique and Applications)

The Headquarters of the Society were at central administrative building of CSIC until 2000, then moved to the Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC

Former presidents:

Dr. C. S. Martín  (1964-1982)

Dr. F. Verdaguer (Atomic Energy Committee) (1982-1984)

Prof. F. Rueda (Universidad  Autónoma de Madrid) (1984-1985)

Prof. J.L. Segovia (Inst. Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid-CSIC) (1985-1999)

Prof. J. M. Albella (Inst. Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC) ( 2000 – 2015).

After elections in 2015 a new board was elected and in the General Assembly it was agreed to start with a new policy to have a much higher impact among the Spanish scientific and technical communities. To carry out this new policy Prof. José Ángel Martín-Gago (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC) was elected  as President


Nanoscience Imdea
Icmm Csic