Divisional representatives


The ASEVA scientific committee has an important mission. Their representatives are nominated directly by the executive board, and they are persons that know the community that they represent. They are the people in charge of giving scientific or technological content to our society. As an example, they will provide names of relevant scientists for invited conferences, evaluate the different awards and propose organization of workshops or schools in their fields. Moreover, the ASEVA representatives in IUVSTA divisions are chosen among them.

Currently, the scientific areas of operation of ASEVA and their representatives are:

Plasma and gas-phase physics and chemistry

Gas discharges, plasma sources, plasma diagnostics, plasma kinetics, plasma-surface interactions, plasma processing, fusion, gas phase reactions, lab-astrophysics

Dra. Ana Borrás

Ana Borrás

Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Sevilla

email: anaisabel.borras@icmse.csic.es

Leader of the division for One Dimensional Multifunctional Nanomaterials in the Nanotechnology on Surfaces and Plasmas Group, CSIC-US. Tenured Scientist CSIC. Activities: Plasma Processing and Plasma Deposition, Vacuum deposition, Functional nanomaterials, Wetting, Energy and Photonics. Main techniques: PECVD, Remote Assisted Vacuum Deposition, GLAD, One-reactor, Advanced Characterization

Dr. Carlos Cabezas

Carlos Cabezas

Instituto de Física Fundamental (IFF-CSIC)

email: carlos.cabezas@csic.es

Post-Doctoral Researcher of the Molecular Astrophysics Group at the Instituto de Física
Fundamental (IFF-CSIC) in Madrid. Research focused in the gas-phase characterization of
molecules with astrophysical and atmospheric interest using rotational spectroscopy
techniques. Expertise in laser ablation techniques, electric discharges and quantum chemical

Low dimensional materials and nanostructures

Physics/chemistry on Surfaces, 2D materials, interfaces, nanoparticles, catalysis, modelling

Dr. Enrique García Michel

Enrique Garcia Michel

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid

email: enrique.garcia.michel@uam.es

Full Professor at Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Deputy Director of IFIMAC (Condensed Matter Physics Center), Fellow of the Institute of Physics (UK). Research fields: Electronic properties of surfaces and interfaces, electronic structure of advanced materials, surface phase transitions. Techniques: Photoelectron and X-ray absorption Spectroscopies (ARPES, XPS, XAS), Surface x-ray diffraction.

Dr. Aitor Mugarza

Aitor Mugarza

Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (ICN2)

email: aitor.mugarza@icn2.cat

ICREA research professor and Group Leader of the Atomic Manipulation and Spectroscopy group at the Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (ICN2). Research fields: Electronic and magnetic phenomena in low dimensional materials, bottom-up synthesis of 2D organic and hybrid materials and the engineering of their quantum properties. Techniques: Scanning tunnelling microscopy (STM), Photoelectron and X-ray absorption Spectroscopies (ARPES, XPS, NEXAFS, XMCD).

Thin-films, coatings and interfaces

CVD&ALD, PVD, plasma assisted deposition, Molecular Beam Epitaxy (MBE), functional coatings, Bio&Hybrid interfaces.

Dr. Javier Barriga

J. Barriga


email: javier.barriga@tekniker.es

Head of thin solid films group at TEKNIKER, where he is working since 1997. He has been working in the characterisation of friction and wear of materials and the development of PVD coatings by sputtering and cathodic arc, for different applications (hard coatings, cosmetic films and optoelectronic devices). In the last 9 years he has been specially involved in the development and characterisation of spectrally selective coatings for thermosolar absorption to enhance energy conversion. He has been involved in many projects related to the upscaling of PVD process, from lab scale to industrial production.

Dr. Ramón Escobar

Ramón Escobar

Universidad de Sevilla

email: rescobar1@us.es

Assistant professor (Profesor Titular) at Universidad de Sevilla. PhD in Materials Science from Technical University Delft and Master in Technological Management from the universities of Loyola and Georgetown.Senior researcher with a track record of 21 years of experience in coordination and execution of R&D projects both within private and public sector. Main scientific activities: development and advanced characterization  of multifunctional thin films and coatings for optical, biomedical and solar energy applications.

Advanced fabrication, processing and characterization

Micro&Nano-fabrication,  advanced microscopies, analysis techniques on large facilities, surface processing and functionalization

Dr. Daniel Granados

Daniel Granados

IMDEA Nanocienca

email: daniel.granados@imdea.org

Group leader of the QnDG (Quanum nanoDevices Group). Scientific interest in the production of devices for quantum information technologies and space exploration, based on quantum-confined materials and superconductors. Manager of the micro & nanofabrication facilities of IMDEA-Nanociencia and CEI UAM+CSIC.

Dra. Lucía Aballe

Lucia Aballe

ALBA Synchrotron

email: laballe@cells.es

Group leader of the CIRCE beamline for X-Ray Photoemission Microscopy and Spectroscopy at the ALBA Synchrotron. Activities: Study of the electronic, chemical, and magnetic properties of solid surfaces, thin films and nanostructures with advanced analytical techniques. Development of scientific instrumentation. Local contact for academic and industrial users for the exploitation of x-ray user facilities: experiment design and execution and data analysis.

Vacuum science and technology

Vacuum system design, particle accelerators, high energy-physics.

Dra. María Martínez Pérez

Universidad de Zaragoza

email: mariam@unizar.es

ARAID researcher at the Zaragoza University and Co-IP of the ANAIS-112 dark matter experiment at the Canfranc Underground Laboratory (LSC).
Research field: Astroparticle Physic, in particular dark matter direct detection and search for neutrinoless double beta decay.
More than 20 years of experience in particle detection (scintillators, cryogenic detectors, noble liquid TPCs) and low radioactivity techniques.
Currently participating in several major interantional collaborations in the astroparticles field: CUPID, DarkSide and LiquidO.

Dr. Jesús Sobrado

Jesús Sobrado

Centro de Astrobiología

email: sobradovj@inta.es

Defense Tenured Scientist at the Centro de Astrobiología at simulation space laboratory in instrumentation department. He has extensive experience in highly controlled UHV systems, vacuum chamber design and vacuum instrumentation.

Past members


Dra. Raquel Monge García

Raquel Monge García



ALBA Synchrotron 

email: rmonge@cells.es

Dra. Elena Jiménez Martínez

Elena Jimenez Martinez

Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha (UCLM)

email: Elena.Jimenez@uclm.es

Group leader of the FOTOAIR (Química Atmosférica, Fotoquímica y Calidad del Aire) group at the Department of Physical Chemistry of the University of Castilla-La Mancha. Activities: Kinetics in the gas phase of reactions of interest in the Earth’s atmosphere and in ultra-cold astrophysical environments. Main techniques: CRESU technique, analytical techniques (GC/MS, PTR-TOFMS, UV and IR spectroscopies), laser techniques.

[gs_logo theme="slider1" logo_color="def_to_gray" logo_cat="sponsors"]